Exemptions to the Individual Mandate
There are some cases where there is no penalty to not having coverage.
All long-term care policies must provide a “free look” period of at least 30 days after a purchase for you to review the policy features. Be sure your policy says what you think it does. If you have questions, ask a trusted friend or your attorney, or call the Kansas Insurance Department at 800-432-2484 . For a full refund, return the policy before the 30 days are up.
During the sale of a long-term care insurance plan, the agent or company must provide you with an outline of coverage. Long-term care policies are difficult to compare. Use the long-term care "Comparison Worksheet" at the end of the booklet to help you compare plans.
This provision allows you to name another person (a "third party") to be notified by the insurance company if your policy is about to "lapse" (end) because you didn't pay the premium.
Kansas insurance law requires companies to show you an inflation protection benefit.
This article is published on KansasMoney.gov. Find more information by contacting these state agencies: