Protecting Your Beneficiaries
Benefit Your Beneficiaries.
The Kansas Department of Revenue may consider a payment plan agreement for taxpayers to resolve their accounts, but certain conditions apply:
Be aware that there is a $25 administration fee on all approved payment plans that exceed 90 days.
Penalty and interest will continue to gain during the life of the agreement based upon any unpaid tax. Any refunds or other monies due to the taxpayer will be applied to the liability. This is the case even if the taxpayer has made all their installment payments on time.
In some cases where the pay plan exceeds six months, a tax warrant will be filed with the District Court to protect the state's interest. A tax warrant will also be filed if the Statute of Limitations is due to expire during the term of the payment plan.
Taxpayers who are granted a payment plan must file and pay all current and future taxes and estimated payments when due. Any additional debts not included in the agreement or missed payments will be considered default of the agreement.
The department retains the right to take immediate enforcement action at all times.
Get the Payment Plan Request for INDIVIDUAL INCOME (CM-15) here.
Pay Plan Request Forms can be faxed to the Collections Department at: 1-785-291-3616.
Pay Plan Request Forms can be emailed to: firstname.lastname@example.org
If your payment plan is approved you will receive a payment plan confirmation by mail within 14 days of our processing your request.
If your payment plan is denied, you will receive instructions from the department on how to proceed.
Once a payment plan is set, you may choose from one of the following four options offered by the department to pay your tax:
If you choose this payment method, be sure to write your Social Security Number on your check or money order and make it payable to “Kansas Business Tax.”
When you select Direct Payment, you are giving the Kansas Department of Revenue Revenue permission to initiate a payment electronically from your bank account. This Direct Payment option is not recurring. You will need to authorize each payment separately. For more information, visit our web site here.
Taxpayers also have the option to remit their Kansas Individual Income Tax Estimated Tax (K-40ES) by credit card via the Internet through third-party vendors. Payment options vary by vendor. A convenience fee is charged by the vendor based on the amount of tax being paid. Credit card transactions are strictly between the vendor and the taxpayer. Any disputes specific to card payments are between the taxpayer and the vendor. Rules about the credit card transactions are available at the vendors’ web site. For more information about credit card payments and a list of participating vendors, see the Credit Card Payments FAQ page.
This article is published on KansasMoney.gov. Find more information by contacting these state agencies: