Exemptions to the Individual Mandate
There are some cases where there is no penalty to not having coverage.
Termination of Your Personal Auto Policy
An insurance company may terminate your coverage under certain circumstances. Coverage may be canceled or nonrenewed. (Different laws apply to each.)
During the first 60 days of coverage under a new policy, the insurance company can cancel your policy for any lawful reason. After 60 days, different rules apply under Kansas statutes. An insurance company can only cancel your policy for these specific reasons:
Nonpayment of insurance premium and/or any installment when it is due. There is no grace period.
Insurance obtained through fraudulent misrepresentation.
Violation by the insured of any of the terms and conditions of the policy.
The insured, a family member, or a person who operates the insured’s vehicle with permission has:
The company must give at least 30 days’ written notice of the cancellation. The only exception is in the case of nonpayment of premium.
An insurance company must offer renewal of your personal automobile liability insurance coverages. But there are a couple of exceptions:
The insurance commissioner requires the company to reduce its number of policies to preserve its financial integrity.
The company no longer does business in Kansas.
The company shows competent medical evidence that the insured has a physical or mental disability that impairs driving in a safe and reasonable manner.
The company determines that a substantial change in risk has occurred that was not known at the time the policy was issued or last renewed.
The policy has been continuously in effect for a period of five years after the first anniversary date.
Any of the reasons that allow for cancellation.
An insurance company must give at least a 30-day written notice of its intent not to renew. This 30-day period will allow you to look for new insurance coverage.
This article is published on KansasMoney.gov. Find more information by contacting these state agencies: